Back to News

Surfing Am. to Hold Special USA Surf Team Selection

March 6, 2006

Surfing America to Hold Special USA Surf Team Selection for 2006 Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championships

Coach Peter “PT” Townend will Select 18 Athletes to Represent the USA in Brazil this May

San Juan Capistrano, CA – March 6, 2006 - As the USA Surf Team prepares for “Medals in Maresias”, Surfing America is holding a special selection event that will determine the travel squad for the 2006 Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championships which will be held in Maresias, Brazil on May 6th -14th. 

Surfing America – the International Surfing Association (ISA) recognized National Governing Body - annually selects the Official USA Surf Team in conjunction with the Surfing America USA Championships presented by SIMA every July.  However, a special selection is required before May's Brazil event because many of the Under-16 Boys Team Members graduated on to the Under-18 division as of January 1st.

Building upon silver (2004) and bronze (2005) medals in the program’s first two years, Surfing America is looking to its member organizations to provide new talent in order to fill the vacant spots. The ESA, NSSA, TGSA, and WSA are sending their top Under-16 male athletes to join existing USA Surf Team members - Florida’s Evan Geiselman and California’s Riley Metcalf - in surfing for the six highly regarded slots in the Under 16 Boys' division. The trial will take place on March 23rd-26th in Huntington Beach, California and should prove who’s primed and ready to meet upwards of 30 nations at the Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championships in May.

“We’re obviously looking to take the best team possible to Brazil,” said Coach Townend.  “By having the member organizations send their selected best to join our already strong roster, it guarantees the United States will be well represented at the World Junior Surfing Championships.”

Townend, who coached a 1984 National Team to a gold medal as well as the successful 2004 and 2005 efforts, has numerous workouts and exercises planned in which he will use his criteria to evaluate and select the fresh stable of Under-16 Boys.  Current USA Surf Team members will also be included in the trial.  Afterwards, Townend will name the 18 youngsters who will be traveling Brazil in May – six in each of the ISA Junior divisions: Under-18 Boys, Under-18 Girls, and Under-16 Boys.  However, ISA rules state that only four entrants in each age group can compete in the event.  Coach PT prefers to make this a game day decision.

All of the surfers who make up this roster must still re-qualify in July through the USA Championships and USA Surf Team Selection if they plan on being eligible to compete in the 2006 ISA World Surfing Games hosted by Surfing America in Huntington Beach, California this October.

"The USA Surf Team program continues to grow and solidify,” said Surfing America Executive Director Mike Gerard.  "We're very pleased to see the pipeline full of tremendous talent and Surfing America is truly grateful to its Member Organizations for their hard work and dedication.  Without them, these kids would have no competitive pathway to the USA Surf Team.”

After the traveling squad is selected, the 18 athletes will have just over five weeks to prepare for the Junior World Championships.  The event, which is hosted by the Confederacao Brasileira de Surf, kicks off on May 6th in Maresias, Brazil with a Parade of Nations and the Sands of the World ceremony.  The competition days run from May 7th until May 14th.

The current USA Surf Team roster:

Under-18 Boys

Eric Geiselman - Florida
Tanner Gudauskas - California
Hunter Heverly – North Carolina
Jeff Lukasik - California
Matt Mohagen - California
Trevor Saunders - California
Kai Barger - Hawaii
Sebastian Zietz - Hawaii
Jordan Gaudet - California
Cory Arrambide - California

Under-16 Boys

Evan Geiselman – Florida
Riley Metcalf - California

Under-18 Girls

Christa Alves - Florida
Alana Blanchard - Hawaii
Demi Boelsterli - California
Lindsay Bowman - Virginia
Courtney Conlogue – California
Bethany Hamilton – Hawaii
Amy Nicholl - Florida
Lexie Papilion – California
Karina Petroni - Florida

Additional Invitees to the USA Surf Team Selection in March

T.J. Gumiela – New York
Nick Rupp – North Carolina
Kedren Ferrero – Florida
Fisher Heverly – North Carolina
Andrew Doheny – California
Nat Young – California
Dillon Perillo – California
Quinn McCrystal – California
Brent Reilly – California
Kris Wiernicki – Florida
Justin Thompson – Texas
Nick Hagen – California
Sage Erickson – California

About Surfing America, Inc.
Surfing America is the ISA-recognized National Governing Body for Surfing in the United States. The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) as the World Governing Authority for Surfing, Bodyboarding, and Surfriding 

Surfing America is the IRS recognized 501(c) 3 charitable organization responsible for selecting and fielding the official USA Surf Team. All donations made to Surfing America are tax deductible to the fullest extent allowed by the law. Donation checks should be made payable to: Surfing America, 33157 Camino Capistrano Suite B San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675. End of year tax receipts are sent to every individual donor of more than $250. For donations under $250, a cancelled check or credit card statement is sufficient evidence for IRS purposes. Surfing America will send a tax receipt to any donor who requests one.

Surfing America Mission Statement

The Mission of Surfing America is to promote the growth, competitive success, and positive image of surfing in the USA and to provide the best possible experience for all participants by encouraging, developing, advancing, and administrating the sport--while producing champions.